Importance Of Nine Goddesses Worshipped In Navratri

Navratri festival 1

Navratri festival is to celebrate the strength and power of the nine Goddesses for nine days by the people of the entire universe. In the month of Ashwin, which falls generally within the month of September and October, the nine incarnations of the Goddess Durga is worshipped for being the power of all God and Goddesses.

The nines Goddess that is believed to fulfill the divineness of Durga are:

Goddess Shailputri: The first incarnation of Goddess Durga, is known as Sati born in the house of “The King of Himalayas” Daksha. Shailputri, the name it means the daughter of the mountains blessed with the power of Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva.

Navratri festival 2

Goddess Brahmacharini:  The second avatar, devotion for her Lord who had chosen to spend her life as Brahmacharini. Celebrated on day two of the Navratri, she adapted the path of spirituality and sacred Knowledge to acquire enlightenment.

Goddess Chandraghanta:  On the third day, the existence of Goddess Chandraghanta with the strength to fight against evils and demons. She has the third eye open on her forehead that defines being alert against enemies. Half moon-like bell is the meaning of her name also known as Chandika.

Navratri festival 3

Goddess Kushmanda: Goddess who has eight hands, another incarnation of Parvati. She is believed to have the power and energy to bestow the grace of wealth and strength.  The avatar of Ashtabhuja is worshipped on the fourth day.

Navratri festival 5

Goddess Skandamata:   She carries Lord Skanda on her lap, sitting on a lion, describing her strength and wealth. She has four hands with a lotus in one hand that symbolizes prosperity, also known as Devi with the Lotus as her seat over the lion.  Her essence of rituals is performed on the fifth day of the Navratri festival.

Goddess Katyayani:  One who rides on the lion known as AmaraKosha, worshipped by Sita to find a good husband. On the sixth day, this avatar of Durga is worshipped with believers to gain better luck in the upcoming days. Her name was given after she was worshipped by Rishi Katyani and was recognized as the daughter of Rishi Katyayani.

Goddess Kalratri: Goddess with the darkest skin as black with the garland of skulls, on the seventh day  Kalratri Devi is worshipped. Her Vahana or ride is in Donkey or Lion with a weapon like a sword in one hand out of four, it is believed that the nights of each 24 hours is ruled by the Kalratri.


Goddess Maha Gauri: The better half of Lord Shiva, with her mount on the bull, is celebrated on the eighth day as the part of Navdurga. Gauri, who symbolizes as the bestower of attraction and beauty of a woman with blessings from her.

Goddess Siddhidhatri:  The complete formation of the goddess with the entire power of the three Lords of the universe. Vishnu, Shiva, and Brahma who has to bless Siddhidhatri to become the supreme to win against all evils.

Navratri festival 5

Navratri festival is of rituals for the Navdurga, which are enjoyed throughout the nine days, dancing, music, and food with families and friends. Being free from all kinds of stress and unhappiness, this is these are the days’ devotees focus to celebrate nine avatars of Durga.

Article Categories:
Religion & Fortune

Don't Miss! random posts ..