#IndvSL: In-Form Team India Take On ‘˜Underdogs’ Sri Lanka

Here we are, the Final of the 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh ‘“ 2007 champions India take on Sri Lanka who have twice been runners-up in the T20 Final (2009 and 2012).

Here we are, the Final of the 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh – 2007 champions India take on Sri Lanka who have twice been runners-up in the T20 Final (2009 and 2012). Everyone knows who is in sublime form throughout the tournament and it’s none other than Team India who would be aiming to become the first team to win the World Twenty20 title for a second time. MS Dhoni who has won almost all the ICC tournaments would be up against a gutsy Sri Lanka who would want to give a perfect send off to their veteran stars – Mahela Jayawardene and Kumara Sangakkara. 

Indian skipper MS Dhoni will rewrite the history books; if he lands the coveted trophy, by becoming the first ever skipper to win three WC Titles. Australia’s Ricky Ponting and West Indies’ Clive Lloyd were the other two captains who have led the team to two world titles. It will circa 2007 for ‘Mahi’ when he had led a young team whom nobody gave a chance, to a brilliant triumph. Since then, under his leadership, the team went on to become the No. 1 ranked Test nation, won the 2011 World Cup and now they are back in World T20 finals.

The Indian skipper will largely field the same team, with the likes of Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane come in at the top. Virat Kohli has been in tremendous form and he showed in the semi-final against the Proteas with a classy knock of 72 not out. In the bowling department, the spin trio of Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra and Ravichandran Ashwin will look to bamboozle the Sri Lankan batsmen with their spin wizardry. All in all, the Indian team is packed in all corners and that’s why the critics make them the ‘favourites’.

But while current form and history of winning big finals certainly make the ‘Men In Blue’ favourites, one can’t simply rule out the Lankan Lions. The two teams will be meeting in another World Cup final after exactly three years and three days (2011). Sri Lanka come into this Final with a lot of expectations. Again, current skipper Dinesh Chandimal will opt out of the game with Lasith Malinga taking the honours of leading the team. The Lankans have lost in the 2009 and 2012 finals and not to forget their loss in the 50-over final in the West Indies back in 2007 and against India in 2011.
This is their fifth ICC tournament final in seven years and they will certainly want to win it for Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara. The two legends of Sri Lankan cricket would want to leave the T20 International arena on a high and also would like to know how it feels to be world champions.
The pitch at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium will not make much of a difference as both teams will be loaded with spinners and have batsmen who are adept at playing against slow bowlers. The toss will be crucial and whoever wins it, batting first is the top priority.

Our pick: Sri Lanka

Teams (from):
India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt.), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron, Stuart Binny, Shikhar Dhawan

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (Capt.), Kusal Perera, TM Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Sachithra Senanayeke, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna.

Article Categories:

Don't Miss! random posts ..