History of Australian Cricket

History of Australian Cricket

While cricket may not be as popular as soccer, it still has millions of fierce fans worldwide. Some countries, like India, think of cricket as another religion — it’s that important to the nation’s history and culture. The same can be said for Australia, where cricket has been present for more than two centuries.

If you know anything at all about cricket, you’ve probably heard that Australia has some of the best players in the world and hosts legendary men’s and women’s tournaments. For those who follow the latest cricket events, we’d suggest checking out the BBL live score and finding out which teams and players stand out in the competition.

However, if you’re interested in learning more about the Australian cricket origins, we’ll sum it up for you.

How It All Began

The first cricket report in Australia was noted in an article published in 1804 by the Sydney Gazette — the first printed newspaper in the country. The article revealed that a cricket match happened in Sydney, leading us to believe the sport had already been present for some time in the colony.

By 1826, the first cricket clubs began appearing — the Military, Australian, and Currency Cricket Clubs gathered cricket enthusiasts from all over the country. Not long after, Tasmania (then Van Diemen’s Land) introduced cricket clubs, along with Hobart and Launceston. In 1838, the people of Victoria formed the Melbourne Cricket Club, which then became one of the most prominent and successful teams in Australia.

In 1851, the first records of intercolonial cricket matches appeared, when Tasmania hosted a game against Victoria and won. The first international tour happened in 1861-62 with the English cricket club visiting Australia. This prompted additional visits and matches, promoting cricket and growing its popularity.

Later on, the visits between the countries became more frequent, leading to the creation of the renowned Ashes Test series. The cricket scene was vivid even in between two world wars, and as soon as the latter ended, the international visits and matches of both men’s and women’s cricket recommenced. Over the years, cricket in Australia had its ups and downs, but it never ceased to exist.

In fact, with more than 2.3 million, the summer season of 2017-18 noted a record number of cricket match attendances.

Notable Cricket Events in Australia

Given that we can consider Australia a cricket nation, it comes as no surprise that the country hosts and participates in some of the biggest events in the cricket world. Apart from the men’s cricket tournaments, the women’s cricket scene in Australia is also lively. For instance, both men and women participate in separate versions of The Ashes series and the Big Bash League.

Therefore, if you’re looking for exciting cricket events, the most prominent ones are:

  • The Ashes Series — played between Australia and England;
  • The Big Bash League — a professional Twenty20 cricket league;
  • The Border-Gavaskar Trophy — traditionally played between India and Australia;
  • Australian Tri-Series — a one-day international cricket tournament played between nine nations — Australia, England, West Indies, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe, New Zealand;
  • Women’s National Cricket League — a domestic 50-over competition that features seven teams (one from every state).

The Most Successful Teams in Australian Cricket

With each season more exciting than the previous one, Australian cricket events bring unpredictable and thrilling matches millions of people enjoy watching. Games get particularly heated when it comes to club competitions between both men and women.

The Big Bash League features eight teams — Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder. The Perth Scorchers are the most successful team, with three championship titles.

The same teams participate in the Women’s Big Bash League, and only three have won two titles each — Brisbane Heat, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder. 

Article Categories:

Don't Miss! random posts ..