Is The Modi-Magic On Work Again?

After a gap of 18 years, BJP’s student wing ABVP on Saturday swept Delhi University students’ union elections, trouncing Congress’ NSUI to bag all four positions and credited the triumph to ‘œModi wave’.

A good news has come along Bhartiya Janata Party.

After a gap of 18 years, BJP’s student wing Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad on Saturday swept Delhi University students’ union elections, trouncing Congress’ NSUI to bag all four positions and credited the triumph to “Modi wave”.

The ABVP won posts of president, vice president, secretary and joint secretary by comfortable margins, bettering year 2013’s performance when it had lost one of the seats to the National Students’ Union of India (NSUI).

Mohit Nagar was elected president of DUSU while Pravesh Malik won the elections for vice president’s post. Kanika Shekhawat and Ashutosh Mathur have been elected as secretary and joint secretary respectively.

Nagar polled 20,718 votes defeating Gaurav Tushir of NSUI who polled 19,804 votes for the post of president. The margin of defeat was 914. Malik, who polled 21,935 votes, defeated NSUI’s candidate Mona Chodhary with the margin of 7,859 votes. Chodhary got 15,649 votes. Shekhawat defeated NSUI’s Amit Sidhu Teema by 3022 votes. Shekhawat polled 18,671 votes while Teema polled 15,649 votes.

ABVP joint secretary candidate Ashutosh Mathur polled 23,133 votes while NSUI’s Abhishek Choudhary got only 12,065 votes. Mathur defeated Choudhary by 11,068 votes, which is the highest margin among all the winning candidates.

A total of seven candidates each were in the fray for the posts of President and Joint Secretary, while six candidates were in race for post of Vice President. Eight candidates were in contention for the Secretary post.

The polling was held in two phases yesterday and it saw a turnout of over 43 per cent. Around one lakh students were eligible to cast their vote in the keenly contested polls.

Last year ABVP had won the posts of president, vice-president and joint secretary while NSUI had managed to capture only secretary’s post.

The news has come at a time when by-elections to three Lok Sabha and 33 assembly constituencies spread across ten states are taking place today. It includes 11 assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh alone. These assembly seats fell vacant after 10 BJP MLAs and one of its ally Apna Dal were elected to the Lok Sabha.

Other elections are being held in Gujarat, Telangana, Rajasthan, West Bengal, Chhatisgarh, Andhra Pradesh and North-Eastern states.

It should be noted that BJP had swept 73 out of 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP. The landslide victory of the party in the state had reduced the ruling Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party to a naught. But the party lost 11 out of 18 assembly seats in the bypolls held in four states barely a month ago.

In those elections, two seats went to JD(U), three to RJD and one to Congress in Bihar where 10 seats went to bypoll. Apart from Bihar, BJP lost considerable votes in Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka as well. While it managed to wrest two out of three seats that went to bypoll in MP, it lost two seats – including stronghold Bellary – out of three in Karnataka. Congress clinched all the three seats lost BJP seats in these two states.

If the party manages to win maximum seats in these elections, it will be return of the Modi-magic.

Article Categories:
News Analysis

Don't Miss! random posts ..