Manpreet to lead junior India hockey team

Young midfielder Manpreet Singh will lead the 18-member junior India hockey squad for the six-nation third Sultan of Johar Cup to be played at Johor Baru in Malaysia Sep 22-29.

Forward Affan Yousef has been appointed Manpreet’s deputy. Young Indian striker Mandeep Singh, who was a part of the Asia Cup squad, has also been included in the junior team.

Hockey India (HI) selectors B.P. Govinda, Syed Ali, R.P. Singh and foreign coach Gregg Clark, and Baljeet Singh Saini along with government observer Harbinder Singh selected the 18 players with nine stand-byes.

The selection trials were held at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here Aug 28-29.

The junior team will now have their preparatory camp at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here Sep 7-17.

The six-nation tournament will feature Argentina, England, India, Korea, Malaysia and Pakistan. India finished runners-up in the last edition of the tournament played in 2012.

HI will also host the FIH Junior Men Hockey World Cup here Dec 6-15.

Goalkeepers: Harjot Singh, Sushant Tirkey

Defenders: Amit Rohidas, Jarmanpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Sukhmanjit Singh, Pardeep Mor

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh (captain), Prabhdeep Singh, Harjit Singh, Satbir Singh, . Imran Khan

Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Amon Mirash Tirkey, Mohammad Amir Khan, Talwinder Singh, Affan Yousef (Vice-Captain)

Standbys: Jagdeep Dayal (Goalkeeper), Dipsan Tirkey (Defender), Gurmail Singh (Defender), Stanli Minz (Midfielder), Lalit Upadhayay (Midfielder), S.K. Uthappa (Midfielder), P L Thimmanna (Forward), Ramandeep Singh (Forward), Malak Singh (Forward)


Article Categories:

Don't Miss! random posts ..