Delhi assembly election: Is Delhi really out of the ‘˜lazy voter’ stigma?

The Election Commission of India pegged the voter turnout in Delhi at 66% which is 11% above from last election figure.

Barely three hours past the beginning of polling in the national capital, the voter turnout was pegged to be somewhere around 17%. Delhi was struggling to shrug off the lazy voter tag. It was important because its counterparts – Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhatisgarh – had received record voter turnout during assembly elections.

By the end of voting, the Election Commission of India pegged the voter turnout at 66% which is only 11% above from last election figure. However, till 3pm, polling was recorded to be merely 48%.

This change came after many of the constituencies saw a major change in the footfall post noon. With New Delhi district recording polling of 74%, RK Puram 80.05%, Greater Kailash 79.74% and Okhla 55%, the figures were bound to change.

A total of 112 EVMs were replaced for technical snags and no untoward incidence was reported. In New Delhi, Jungpura, Badli, Krishna Nagar and Kondli constituencies, some voters complained that their names have been struck from the electoral rolls and they could not vote. The residents of Kalibari basti were not able to vote too as the name of the entire colony members did not figure in the electoral roll.

Delhi has 66.11 lakh men voters and 53.20 lakh women voters. The number of first time voters is said to be around 4.05 lakh.

A total of 810 candidates were in the fray in the three-cornered contest between Congress, BJP and AAP. While BJP fielded candidates in 66 constituencies Congress and AAP contested from all 70 seats.

BSP, which was the third largest party in last Assembly election, fielded candidates in 69 seats, NCP in nine and Samajwadi Party in 27 seats.

A total of 224 independents were also in the fray.

There were 11,753 polling booths out of which 630 were identified as critical and hyper critical.

Article Categories:

Don't Miss! random posts ..